• {{ result.title }}

Facts to know about indian national flag

alokdev 02-August-2019

The Indian flag is the pride of every Indian. It’s big value that we salute on National festival like Republic Day or Independence Day.

We share some facts and information about the national flag of India that all Indians should be knowing about.

1.The national flag of India was adopted in its present form during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly held on 22 July 1947, when it became the official flag of the Dominion of India.
2. This was designed by Pingali Venkayya, an agriculturist and Indian citizon.
3.The national flag of India, by law, is to be made of khadi only, a special type of hand-spun cloth of cotton or silk made popular by National father Mahatma Gandhi.
4.The right to manufacture the national flag of India is held by the Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission, who in turn allocates it to the regional groups.
5.The national flag of India is also known by the term ‘tricolour’, Tiranga in Hindi. The reason for this is the three dominant colors in the flag, saffron, white and green. These two terms in India always refer to the national flag.
6.The three colors have its own meaning each.
Saffron represents courage and sacrifice.
White represents truth, peace, and purity.
Green represents prosperity.
7.The Ashok Chakra tells the Laws of Dharma.
8.According to the Flag code of India, the Indian flag has a ratio of two by three, where the length of the flag is 1.5 times that of the width and all three stripes of the flag – Saffron, White, and Green – should be equal in width and length. Also, the chakra should be printed on both sides of the flag. There are nine different sizes in which the Indian flag is made. The smallest one is 6×4 inches and the biggest one, hoisted on buildings and forts with high mast, is 21×14 feet.

The flags hoisted on Red Fort, Rashtrapati Bhavan, and medium-sized government buildings are 12×8 feet.
9.The size of the Ashoka Chakra was not specified in the Flag Code, but the Ashoka Chakra must have twenty-four spokes that are evenly spaced. The Ashoka Chakra is rendered in a Navy-blue color on the white stripe of the flag.
10.The Ashoka Chakra or wheel is from the Lion Capital of Ashoka. According to Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, second President of the Republic of India, the chakra was chosen as it was representative of Dharma and Law.


Write your comment

Login need for leave comments


Related Post